Guitar Boy – Completed Project

guitarboy

I put in a LOT of work and am happy to finally present the Guitar Boy. This fully functioning electric guitar has a Raspberry Pi built in which runs retro video games on a 5″ LCD screen. All of the controls on the front of the guitar perform as regular Game Boy controls, with the A and B buttons pulling double duty as volume and tone knobs.

I built this as an exhibition piece for the BitFix Gaming 2015 Game Boy Classic build-off and finished working on it September 13, just before the competition’s deadline. Check out this video of the Guitar Boy in action:

3 responses to “Guitar Boy – Completed Project

  1. Hi there,

    My name is Laure Boulinier and I am a journalist at Newsflare, a leading global video agency. I have just seen this video and I would be interested in talking to you about helping you to license it.

    Could you let me know whether you would be interested by email on laure@newsflare.com so I can give you more information?

    Check out our website here: http://www.newsflare.com

    Many thanks and best wishes,

    Laure Boulinier

  2. Hey Nolan,

    Just tweeted at you (@dawsynborland). I’m from the Discovery Channel’s “Daily Planet” and we would LOVE to have you demo GuitarBoy for our High Tech Toys week coming up in December. Our viewers would totally obsess over it.

    If you’re interested or have any questions, you can reach me at dawsyn.borland@bellmedia.ca

Leave a Reply

